Management Team

Scientific Advisory Board


Paul Billings, M.D., Ph.D

Founding Member, Director

Full Bio

Board certified internist and clinical geneticist Dr. Paul R. Billings serves as Chief Medical Officer of Life Technologies, a new position aimed at improving patient care through expanding the use of medically relevant genomic technologies in clinical settings. Dr. Billings brings extensive expertise and clinical experience in the areas of genomics and molecular medicine. Most recently, he served as Director and Chief Scientific Officer of the Genomic Medicine Institute at El Camino Hospital, the largest community hospital in the Silicon Valley. He currently serves as a member of the United States Department of Health and Human Services Secretary’s Advisory Committee on Genetics, Health and Society, where he helps shape policy in the rapidly evolving field of genomic medicine. Dr. Billings has had a distinguished career as a physician and researcher. He has been a founder or chief executive officer of companies involved in genetic and diagnostic medicine, including GeneSage, Omicia and CELLective Dx Corporation. Previously, he was senior vice president for corporate development at Laboratory Corporation of America Holdings (LabCorp). He has held academic appointments at some of the most prestigious universities in the United States, including Harvard Medical School, Stanford School of Medicine and the University of California, Berkeley, and has served as a physician at a number of medical centers throughout the country, including the University of California, San Francisco. He is the author of nearly 200 publications and books on genomic medicine. Dr. Billings holds an M.D. from Harvard Medical School and a Ph.D. in immunology, also from Harvard University.

Mark M. Rasenick, PhD


Full Bio

Mark Rasenick’s work has focused on G protein signaling in the nervous system and the relationship of neurotransmitter activation to rapid modification of the cytoskeleton. He has been particularly interested in how G proteins and the cytoskeleton work in concert to modify synaptic shape and to form a molecular basis for depression and the action of antidepressant drugs. The most recent work from his group is the basis for a blood test indicating depression and therapeutic response to antidepressant therapy. The science in Dr. Rasenick’s lab has been funded, continuously since 1984, by the NIMH. He has also been funded by other federal agencies (NIDA, NIA, NIAD, NSF, DOD) and by industry sources. He is principal investigator of an NIMH training grant, “Training in the Neuroscience of Mental Health”, which supports graduate students and postdoctoral fellows in the neurosciences. He serves on many scientific review panels (NIH, NSF, DOD), and editorial boards and is the author of numerous publications. Dr. Rasenick has received honors both for teaching and research, including the Searle Young Faculty Award from the Chicago Community Trust, the University Scholar Award and Distinguished Faculty Award from the University of Illinois, a Research Scientist Award from the NIMH, and a Robert Wood Johnson Health Policy Fellowship from the Institute of Medicine/National Academy of Sciences. He is an elected fellow of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

In addition to research and teaching, Dr. Rasenick is active in public policy. He served as a member of the Commission on Social Action of Reform Judaism and the Chapters committee and Government and Public Affairs Committee (co-chair) and International Affairs Committee of the Society for Neuroscience. He serves on the Public Affairs committees of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, the Society for Neuroscience and the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology. He is a member of the Basic and Clinical Neuroscience Links Committee for the International Brain Research Organization (IBRO). While a Robert Wood Johnson Fellow (1999-2000), he was a staff member of the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions with Senator Edward M. Kennedy, (D Mass.). During this time, he worked on legislation concerning Cancer screening, Medicare Prescription Drugs, Organ Transplantation Policy and Mental Health Policy. He is also involved in international outreach for neuroscience and has organized programs designed to foster international cooperation in the basic and clinical neurosciences in Vietnam, Cuba and throughout Latin America. He was asked to testify before the Senate Committee on Foreign Relations concerning outreach to Cuban biomedical scientists. In 2009, he was appointed an Ambassador for Global Health Research by the Paul Rogers Society.


Bruce McEwen, PhD

Full Bio

Bruce McEwen is the Alfred E. Mirsky Professor of Neuroscience at the Rockefeller University and the Director of the Harold and Margaret Milliken Hatch Laboratory of Neuroendocrinology. He studies the mechanism by which stress and sex hormones affect brain function and gene expressions, and  neurogenesis. His research has helped create a new understanding of how the brain changes in structure and function in adults, and the implications of stress on the brain in depression and PTSD. He is a past President of the Society for Neuroscience, and a  member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences , and the National Academy of Science and the Institute of Medicine.

Style: "Neutral"

Eric Nestler, MD, PhD

Full Bio

Eric Nestler is Dean for Academic and Scientific Affairs and Director of the Friedman Brain Institute at Mt. Sinai School of Medicine and was previously the Lou and Ellen McGinley Distinguished Professor and Chair of Psychiatry at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas. He was formerly the Elizabeth Mears and House Jameson Professor of Psychiatry and Director of the Division of Molecular Psychiatry at Yale University School of Medicine. The focus of his research is molecular mechanisms underlying behavior disorders. Dr. Nestler is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of the Sciences.


Mark Rapaport, MD

Full Bio

Mark Rapaport is Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the Emory University School of Medicine. Previously he was Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Cedars Sinai. He is the immediate past president of the American Society for Clinical Psychotherapeutics. 


Alan F. Schatzberg, M.D.

Full Bio

Alan Schatzberg is the Kenneth T. Norris, Jr. Professor and Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Stanford University. Dr. Schatzberg is an active investigator in the biology and psychopharmacology of anxiety and depressive disorders. He has authored or edited over 200 publications, including the Manual of Clinical Psychopharmacology and the recently published Textbook of Psychopharmacology.  Dr. Schatzberg has recently investigated antecedents of depression in adults. Dr. Schatzberg is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of the Sciences and is the current past-president of the American Psychiatric Association.